Customer Reviews

Rating:  
Elites Peter Hook Custom set
Tuesday, 3 September 2019  |  Graham

Excellent service, fast delivery


Rating:  
Great strings
Friday, 30 August 2019  |  Thomas

More companies should make a set like this. The G is now beefy enough to sound great, strings tune quick and stay in tune. Feel great too!


Rating:  
Great bass!
Thursday, 29 August 2019  |  Mohamed

I bought this bass because I'm a huge fan of Bruce Thomas and his bass playing. After playing it at length a few times now, I just want to say that I am really very happy with this purchase. The neck is very smooth and easy to play - it arrived set up and ready to go with nice low action. The pickups cut through nicely and sound good to me.

It seems to hold a tuning very well as I tuned it up once and it has barely budged since. The color is definitely a conversation starter, especially since I'm not a flashy guy, but it looks great in person. It's definitely more of an orange than a pink to my eyes - I love it now.

On top of all that the bass is actually pretty light so it's a pleasure to play! This was a total impulse buy and I have to say that I am really happy to have it now.


Rating:  
Awesome strings
Wednesday, 28 August 2019  |  Robert

Quality super fast shipping to the States.


Rating:  
Stunning Looks, Great Value
Friday, 23 August 2019  |  Tim

This is the first bass I have bought and I spent a considerable time researching it before buying it. The Lizzy bass is a fantastic looking guitar with its black body and neck and mirror finished pick guard. It was professionally set up before being couriered to me. It was manufactured in Korea and finished to a very high standard. It has a slim fast neck and is supplied with Elites nickel plated strings which are softer on the fingers than some I have tried. The bass weighs in at a thankfully light-ish 4.1 kilos. At this price I cannot fault it. It compares well with instruments costing twice the price. Oh, and did I mention its looks...?!


Rating:  
Worth waiting for!
Friday, 23 August 2019  |  Stephen

It took a long time to arrive because it was a rather special instrument, but in the end it was worth waiting for. Very good service and follow-up from The Bass Centre, and excellent value for this instrument compared to others offering the same.


Rating:  
New Favourites!
Wednesday, 31 July 2019  |  Mark

As a long time Elites Nickel user I thought I'd give these a go on my graphite necked 5-string Status as I was after something smooth feeling, (I find most normal steels too rough), but with more 'zing' than flats and these hit it on the head!
Perfect tension, great feel and loads of tone... think I'll be coming back for some 4-string sets for some of my other basses!


Rating:  
Just the best
Monday, 8 July 2019  |  Turner

I've been using Elites since I discovered them at the Bass Centre in Wapping. I have tried virtually every single brand over the years and have concluded that elites are just the best for me.


Rating:  
Excellent value
Friday, 21 June 2019  |  Craig

Excellent value strings, and a nice free t-shirt if you buy two sets! Great tone and feel plus a freebie, what's not to like? 😀 I'll be trying the Groundwounds some time soon.


Rating:  
Quick service, good product
Thursday, 20 June 2019  |  Stephen

Very pleased with the quick and efficient service - the delivery to the Netherlands was very fast. Price was also good, and lower than other companies. So I am very pleased with the purchase.


Rating:  
Highly recommended!
Wednesday, 12 June 2019  |  Magnus

Needed to replace the bridge on my Gibson. Found this Babicz bridge and it is perfect.
One of the screws was missing when the bridge arrived - contacted Bass Centre and Mr. Barry sent me the missing screw pretty quick.
Highly recommended!


Rating:  
Fantastic
Tuesday, 28 May 2019  |  Victor

I just recived my new radius wav bass to Norway today, and it feels fantastic already! PERFECT for my new record!
Thank you for great set up and safe delivery 😁


Rating:  
Good product, good price.
Thursday, 23 May 2019  |  Chas

These strings sound excellent and, unlike many, don't start off with excess polish that leaves your fingertips black. The ball end wraps were a perfect fit for my Steinberger.


Rating:  
Really good
Thursday, 4 April 2019  |  Brian

I've been using them for years and can see no reason to change. They're really good strings.


Rating:  
The best UK source of bass gear
Saturday, 30 March 2019  |  Bruce

Bought my second Babicz bridge from The Bass Centre had some trouble with the first they sorted it out at no cost to me, excellent communication and customer service, I bought a second. Highly recommended.


Rating:  
Getting me closer to that James Jamerson Funk Brothers sound
Friday, 15 February 2019  |  Keith

Replaced the original round wounds on my Yamaha RBX170 with these strings. The Elites Detroit Flats were a fair price and ordering online was easy and delivery quick.
First impressions were a bit weird (in a good way) - that rasping noise as you run your fingers down the fret board had gone. The strings felt 'soft and smooth'.
Most importantly for me the tone across all four stings was the same. On my original roundwounds the E was a dirty low and G was brittle. I was questioning my choice of reasonably priced guitar but these new strings are getting me closer to that James Jamerson Funk Brothers sound (with some foam under the strings at the bridge).


Rating:  
Great Product & Service
Thursday, 14 February 2019  |  Elton

Been using Elites for decades, great strings at a reasonable price. Have had the occasional dalliance with other strings but don't feel need to change as Elites give me what I need. Service was quick and reliable and it was nice to get a free coth (which is useful) too.

Cheers, Elton


Rating:  
Anyone got a Balanced Shoulder Rest for acoustic violin?
Monday, 11 February 2019  |  Jonny

I’ve just heard back from NS Designs that they discontinued the attachment for acoustic violins about five years ago.

Does anybody have one lying around that needs a new home?

Jonny


Rating:  
Excellent free gift
Tuesday, 5 February 2019  |  Paul

Got this polishing cloth free with Detroit Elite strings. A really useful item and a nice gesture from a superb company.


Rating:  
Superb
Tuesday, 5 February 2019  |  Paul

Superb strings awesome tone deep and vibrant.


Rating:  
Excellent...
Thursday, 10 January 2019  |  Sam

Excellent quality, elite in fact. Prompt service, arrived the following day and this was over the Christmas period!


Rating:  
Top level bass strings
Friday, 12 October 2018  |  Chris

Excellent quality - been using these strings for over 20 years


Rating:  
Great Strings
Thursday, 30 August 2018  |  Simon

I first used Elites in the late '80s / early '90s and have always been impressed with their punch and tone. Great strings.


Rating:  
Great strings
Thursday, 9 August 2018  |  Keith

Great strings and free gift polishing cloth tnanks


Rating:  
All Good
Thursday, 2 August 2018  |  Chris

I am very happy with the feel and tone of these strings. I was looking for less wear and tear on my fingers and these fit the bill. I was also very happy with the service provided by The Bass Centre. Good communication. Speedy delivery and it was a nice touch receiving the cleaning cloth with my order. Recommended and will return.


Rating:  
Fantastic
Tuesday, 10 July 2018  |  Garry

Fantastic replacement for my bent '76 Precision - Sustain is unreal and very easy to swap over


Rating:  
Great sounding strings
Wednesday, 4 July 2018  |  Andreas

The strings sound great and they fit perfectly on my Landscape upright bass. I will definitely buy them again! I also give 5 STARS for the customer-friendly service of Bass Centre!


Rating:  
Highly recommended
Tuesday, 12 June 2018  |  Paulo

Great service and communication,and a really fantastic instrument. Vintage vibe at very affordable price.


Rating:  
Unique & intriguing
Thursday, 7 June 2018  |  Shane

What a great & fun little bass this is. Fretwork is immaculate. Fit & finish top drawer. The balance & position on your body when playing with it strapped on is not the norm. More like an SG, but you soon adapt & get used to it. Lots of versatile sounds to be found. Great pickups & hardware. A unique & intriguing bass.


Rating:  
Great Product
Wednesday, 6 June 2018  |  Anthony

Fitted this bridge to a generic Precision Bass. It has transformed it. Even though I had fitted Seymour Duncan SPB3's, it was still missing something. Wow! This through body bridge with Elites has fantastically improved the middle and top end. Plus it made setting the action and intonation very easy. Love it!!


Rating:  
I cannot recommend this bass highly enough
Sunday, 20 May 2018  |  Adam

It is a steal in terms of value for the build quality, play-ability and tone. Look into British Bass Centre - Americans pay no VAT on imports from them, also.

It is essentially the ultimate hybrid of Precision tone with Jazz sustain and play-ability/neck profile, but lighter and better balanced than either.

I am so delighted with it - brilliant!!




Rating:  
Great strings, always delivered on time
Wednesday, 16 May 2018  |  Keiren

Wouldn't buy from anyone else.


Rating:  
Great buy
Monday, 7 May 2018  |  Dave

Ordering was easy. Strings arrived quickly and were cheaper than most, if not all places online.

All in all, a faultless transaction.


Rating:  
Great job!
Friday, 20 April 2018  |  Kieran

Really pleased with the service. I enquired a few months ago about the Profile - it was out of stock but put my name down to be notified, ordered one when they became available and it arrived a few days later.

I play mainly in a covers band doing a lot of new wave stuff including Attractions numbers. I have an 80's Japanese Precision (owned since '93) which I love but it does have a thick neck and I tend to favour a Jazz ( Mexican) for live as it's more playable. The reviews and history of the Profile looked encouraging, particularly the time invested by Bruce himself to produce a specific instrument that isn't just a signature on a stock guitar, so I took the plunge.

I've hardly put it down since. It feels fantastic to play. I like the satin finish on the neck (was thinking of sanding the gloss neck on my Precision!) and the build quality is that of an instrument that should cost double. The pickups are fantastic - SO LOUD with loads of sustain and generally awesome tone. Also I was pleased to see that although the Profile looks red in a lot of internet pictures, it is definitely salmon pink like the original. Great job !!!!


Rating:  
Fantastic value!
Thursday, 5 April 2018  |  Andy

Reviewers are absolutely right to praise this great bass for its playability, sound and looks.
It's fantastic value!

But buyers, please note that mine came without the grooved, roller bridge and a signed certificate. I've suggested the Bass Centre should amend their description.


Rating:  
Brilliant
Tuesday, 27 March 2018  |  Danny

Had a ridiculously long wait on Royal Mail to deliver, about 9 days, terrible. Had I have known, I’d have paid next day. The dispatch was quick, customer service ace. The product is brilliant, another level on adjustable ability in order to get string height.


Rating:  
Best £500 I ever spent
Monday, 26 March 2018  |  Stephen

Everything about this bass is perfect. It sounds amazing and the set up is great. It really is flawless. It's the best £500 I've ever spent on an instrument. Now, if only I could play it like Bruce or Bedders!


Rating:  
Beautiful sound
Friday, 23 February 2018  |  Magnus

These strings have the sound I have spent years looking for. Great buy for a good price! Come highly recommended.


Rating:  
Beautiful sound
Friday, 23 February 2018  |  Magnus

These strings have the sound I have spent years looking for. Great buy for a good price! Come highly recommended.


Rating:  
Excellent strings at the price
Thursday, 22 February 2018  |  Christopher

Very comfortable strings to play and quick to stabilise. I'm using these strings for the first time... sure, groundwound strings are a bit of a trade off - less string squeak but less 'zing' too. If you want the classic roundwound brilliance, look elsewhere... but if you want the comfort of tapewound strings with a bit more 'open-ness' and articulation at a sensible price then look no further. These strings fit the bill perfectly. I wouldn't hesitate to buy them again.


Rating:  
Impressed
Monday, 12 February 2018  |  Linda

Bought for my son who says it’s much better than the original stand in its solidity, yet giving him freedom of movement. He’s really impressed.


Rating:  
Amazing bass at a great price!
Friday, 9 February 2018  |  Rob

It’s quickly becoming one of my go-to basses, lightweight and sounds amazing!


Rating:  
Used for years
Thursday, 25 January 2018  |  Peter

I'm very happy with the strings I bought. I've used them for years and I know & trust them.
However I bought 3 sets of strings, 2x4 string sets & 1x6 string set, but didn't receive the t-shirt that was said to be on offer when I bought two sets of strings.
Ho hum.


Rating:  
Good value for money
Friday, 5 January 2018  |  Einar

All statements in catalogue fulfilled! Low action, clear sound, easy to play, good value for money!


Rating:  
Bass Guitar 6-String Set
Thursday, 4 January 2018  |  Don

The only problem with this order was delivery time which was due to Royal Mail load over Christmas. I did call to query the delivery and was treated extemely politely by Gill and Barry. Many thanks, Don.


Rating:  
It came quickly & worked
Wednesday, 6 December 2017  |  Simon

The title says it all, really!


Rating:  
Sexy bass!
Wednesday, 15 November 2017  |  Richard

I really like the bass. The neck feel is not as good as my more expensive Fenders (£1,000 or more range) but I am happy. The neck is fine but not awe inspiring. It looks great, the pickups are strong and have a nice range. I was pleasantly surprised by this. I like the light weight as well. It's a sexy bass and sounds good.


Rating:  
Excellent
Saturday, 4 November 2017  |  Barry

Very pleased with the bass... and the delivery/service excellent too.

I swear this bass talks to me... so pleased!


Rating:  
Good value for money
Tuesday, 31 October 2017  |  Christopher

Very pleased with this little bass guitar. Well made and good value for money, especially compared to a Kala U-Bass from California. Can get a sound very close to a double bass, the secret is to turn all the EQ off and then add very little back in bit by bit.

Only criticism is the strings, which are very hard on fingers but this can be cured with regular usage of talcum powder... Best put it on strings and fingers. If it's good enough for Jeff Beck, it's good enough for me!!


Rating:  
Excellent service
Thursday, 26 October 2017  |  Shaun

Bought a Babicz Z-Type Bridge to replace the stock bridge on a Squier VM Fretless. Arrived the following day, earlier than anticipated. Great upgrade. Simple transaction. Thanks.


Rating:  
Superb bass and excellent service
Monday, 9 October 2017  |  Carl

I have been playing an American brand of Jazz bass but wanted to experiment with the P-Bass sound. The Power Bass was attractively priced and received very good reviews from friends and online so I decided to buy one as an introduction to P-Bass.

The Bass Centre put Elites Strings on the bass and set it up for you so that it is ready to go as soon as you get it. It also comes in a decent quality gig bag. The bass is light but tone doesn't suffer because of this and it is honestly one of the most comfortable basses I have played. The neck is really fast and plays very smoothly. There is plenty of signal from the pickups and lots of tone control.


Rating:  
Superb Instrument
Monday, 25 September 2017  |  Chas

I'd dealt with The Bass Centre back in the Wapping days and knew that Barry wouldn't be selling his Bass Collection instruments if they weren't worth putting his good name and reputation behind. I was curious to see just how good they are and, on the strength of the Frankenstein bass that has just arrived, the answer is 'BRILLIANT'.

The neck is wonderfully slim, straight as an arrow with very nice fretting and plays great with the satin finish. The slightly thinner depth basswood body makes for a lighter guitar than my regular Fenders, but without any loss of snap or sustain. The electronics and hardware are more than adequate and it does all that you could ask of a P-Bass, while giving you scope to upgrade and customise if you want to.

The fit and finish is excellent with a flawless paint job. The gig bag is also nicely made. All in all, this is the best budget bass that I have played in many years and really would put many far more expensive P-Basses to shame. The price point seems ridiculously low for what you are getting (and no, I'm not related to Barry!).

If this is a typical Bass Collection instrument then I would recommend them to anybody.


Rating:  
Amazing player
Saturday, 26 August 2017  |  Frank

Thank you for sorting out the bass, it really is appreciated.


Rating:  
Love it!
Sunday, 20 August 2017  |  Dan

Bruce, my bass arrived a few days ago. My expectations were adjusted down for the known of buying a bass without ever having played it. Amazingly, it looks cleans but not special (which is just fine with me), but I was really not prepared for the sound of "Party Girl" coming out of my cheap ss amp. 

And you are right about play-ability... The neck is great and the pick up fat. Love IT!

Thank you for doing this.


Rating:  
Highly recommended
Saturday, 19 August 2017  |  Mike

Excellent quality and well made with generous padding inside.

I'm very pleased with my purchase and would highly recommend this product to anybody who is after a gig bag.


Rating:  
Bass Strings
Thursday, 10 August 2017  |  Phillip

To find out that the strings required come in the necessary weight and length you have to click the down arrow. I didn't see this until the last minute and I don't think it's mentioned on the 'top' screen. Other than that, a painless experience.


Rating:  
Awesome and inspiring!
Monday, 7 August 2017  |  David

So glad to have stumbled across this bass!

Bruce Thomas has long been a top favorite player so I jumped at the chance to own and play his signature model.

Despite its rather modest price this bass is definitely a high quality, well thought out instrument and as Bruce himself said "it's a real joy to play".
After fitting my preferred strings and with a small amount of adjustment, which the bass responded to quite well, I'm happy to report it has become nearly impossible to put down. Thanks Bass Centre, Barry and Co. and of course the man himself! I should also mention that the included gig bag is of surprisingly high quality. Bonus!!


Rating:  
Plays beautifully
Tuesday, 1 August 2017  |  Andy

The Profile Bass arrived at the alternative address and I collected it last night just prior to taking it for its first gig. It plays beautifully. In fact, it sounds so good that my other Precision sounds downright wimpy in comparison.

Question... Is it possible to purchase the BTPB pickup separately? I'd love to put one in my other Precision so that, as a newly relegated backup, it'll sound as close to my new Profile bass as possible. I've got a Duncan SB1 Pickup in my Fender that I got from the Bass Centre back in the Wapping days and the Profile pickup leaves it for dust.

Well done Team Bass Centre!

Thanks for all your help sorting delivery.


Rating:  
The Holy Grail!
Monday, 10 July 2017  |  Si

I have quite a number of Bass Collection basses, and I adore all of them, they're unbelievably good.

However, this is the bass I've spent my career looking for!!

It is perfect, and I mean perfect.

I've always found five strings I've used over time never quite felt right, but this is finally it. It plays like a four string almost, but with the low B there ready for action.

If you're gonna play a fiver, this should be your number one choice.


Rating:  
Great looker, great player.
Monday, 10 July 2017  |  Ross

Visited The Bass Centre today & put an order in for a new bass. Went for a Bass Collection Power Bass ("The Lizzy") with hi mass bridge.

My request of changing the neck for a Jive/Jazz one was met with a "no problem at all" response (and at no extra cost). Dealing with Barry Moorhouse was a pleasure.

Pick it up next Friday, can't wait. Great looker, great player.


Rating:  
Amazing service
Saturday, 24 June 2017  |  Graham

Have never had such fantastic after sales service from any other company.

5 stars without a doubt!

Thank you.


Rating:  
Fantastic P Bass
Thursday, 1 June 2017  |  Simon

What can I say, I really love this bass. It's light, well balanced, the neck is fast and satin smooth and the colour is amazing.

It's now my no.1 bass, replacing a similar instrument made by a very well known American company.

Just wish I'd bought one earlier!


Rating:  
Well pleased
Wednesday, 31 May 2017  |  Ian

Well pleased with the Wyman Bass. Would recommend the Bass Centre to anyone... Thanks.


Rating:  
Beautiful bright tone
Monday, 8 May 2017  |  Andy

I only use these strings on all of my basses. Ive tried most on the market but these have a beautiful bright tone which doesn't deteriorate over time too much.


Rating:  
T-Shirt
Sunday, 7 May 2017  |  Stephen

Comes free with two sets of Elite strings. What's not to like?


Rating:  
Awesome strings!
Sunday, 7 May 2017  |  Stephen

I've been using Elites for years and simply love the Stadium Series! As if that wasn't enough, the free shipping to Europe offered by The Bass Centre is an added bonus


Rating:  
Consistent
Thursday, 27 April 2017  |  Warren

I buy these strings with full confidence that they'll deliver the bright, crystalline ping they always do.

Very high quality, durability and - of course - attractive silk!


Rating:  
Great bass
Thursday, 20 April 2017  |  William

Great bass at an unbelievable price. Customer service very good also, all questions answered and tracking the product's arrival very straightforward. Will be buying from the Bass Centre again, very soon. Don't tell the wife!


Rating:  
Elites bass strings
Monday, 10 April 2017  |  Paul

Elites bass strings have always been my string of choice when I need double ball end strings for my basses. I prefer stainless steel more than nickel wound as they have a brighter tone and the Bass Centre Elites have never let me down for the last 27 years.


Rating:  
Good item
Saturday, 25 March 2017  |  Michael

Very pleased with my new amp. It sounds like a much bigger amp and it fits in a sports bag.


Rating:  
Best strings ever
Thursday, 16 February 2017  |  Stephen

I've been using Elites Stadium strings for a while, originally 45-105 but recently changed to 40-100 and 40-125 and for me it's made all the difference: still the same bright tone, but just faster!

Have them on my Rickenbacker 4001 and 4 & 5 string Jazz basses.

Where do I sign for an endorsement deal!?


Rating:  
Very nice instrument
Saturday, 11 February 2017  |  Christopher

Bought to travel with, but such a powerful sound and with full 34" scale. Will also use as my p bass alternative and back up.

The walnut finish gives a contemporary look to an 80's icon. Fits best with a long strap for correct position. I use mainly in passive mode, which is a full & genuine mode and gives a mellower tone. 5 string spacing feels no different to my other 5er bass. Only criticism is have to unscrew panel to replace battery. But battery not needed in passive mode anyway.

This is the first time I have used the Bass Centre and they were very friendly and could not have been more helpful.


Rating:  
Warwick bridge? No problem!
Monday, 23 January 2017  |  Stuart

Didn't actually receive a 6 string set - it was a set of 5 with a loose extra but hardly an issue; still did what was needed!

After enduring 2 sets of manufacturers' strings that came with my custom Warwick I bought some proper strings, can't fault them and even fitted the pita Warwick bridge comfortably with no filing of saddles needed. Couldn't be happier!


Rating:  
Best strings on the market!
Monday, 23 January 2017  |  Stuart

I've used these exclusively for 20 years now, and never broken one, never had a duff one... they stay bright and snappy for an age longer than any other brand. Can't fault them on anything.


Rating:  
This bridge is Bad Ass!
Thursday, 12 January 2017  |  Joe

Based on the original design of the epic Badass Bridge, which is sadly unavailable, this new Omega Bridge by All Parts is just as good, if not a better product all together.

Plenty of heft and sustain - this bridge stands on the shoulders of the giant brand names!

Joe Hubbard • London, UK
London based, American-born pro musician, Joe Hubbard, has enjoyed a 30 year career as an internationally acclaimed contemporary jazz fusion recording artist, bass tutor & clinician.


Rating:  
Absolutely wonderful
Friday, 30 December 2016  |  Steven

Hi Bruce

Guess what Santa brought me?

It's ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL, hands-down the best action, set-up and playability I’ve ever encountered on a bass!

It’s incredibly light, but has waaayy more power. The pickups sound like bloody Jazz pickups with the belly of a split-single — how did you do that?! What is the special secret behind the pickup? I've never heard a P-bass (style) pickup with this much clarity - none of them sound this balanced and bright at the same time, whilst also being clean and noise-free! So easy to get your classic tone, now all I have to work on is my playing.

I never do reviews or demos, but I'll have to do one on this occasion, it's such an amazing piece. Phenomenal instrument, better than I could have hoped for.

Thanks so much for making this beautiful piece of craftsmanship!!

via Facebook; re-posted by kind permission


Rating:  
Eccellenti
Wednesday, 16 November 2016  |  Giuseppe

Montate su Thunderbird, risultate essere eccellenti... Suono metallico, brillante, pulito e ben definito... Miglior sustain... Molto soddisfatto del suono... a differenza delle corde provate precedentemente che fornivano suoni molto sporchi ed eccessivamente ovattati. Un sentito ringraziamento a Barry.


Rating:  
Bass Collection Jive + Babicz FCH Bridge
Monday, 14 November 2016  |  Lorenzo

Hi Barry

Hope you’re doing well!?

The bass arrived on Monday and it plays beautifully, truly one of the best basses I ever played. The action is perfect and the strings are smooth... and I love the colour.

Thanks again and when I perform I’ll send you a picture asap!

Best

Lorenzo


Rating:  
Clever design
Wednesday, 26 October 2016  |  Laurie

Many thanks for your prompt service. The bridge arrived this morning and is now installed on my trusty old '72 Jazz. Intonation and action are better than they've ever been. A very clever design.

Thanks again.


Rating:  
Free Gift T Shirt
Monday, 17 October 2016  |  Mark

Worth every penny


Rating:  
Killer
Monday, 26 September 2016  |  Joe

This is a killer J-Bass copy and absolutely the best on the market for the price.

The neck feels like a 1962 Jazz Bass.

Joe Hubbard • London, UK
London based, American-born pro musician, Joe Hubbard, has enjoyed a 30 year career as an internationally acclaimed contemporary jazz fusion recording artist, bass tutor & clinician.


Rating:  
Detroit Flats
Sunday, 25 September 2016  |  Vic

Put them on my '64 P-Bass... Amazing. Twice the output of others... fat low end with definition, smooth feel...I think I've finally found what I've been looking for...

Will spread the word.

Cheers, Vic from Oakland CA.


Rating:  
Love these flat wounds...
Thursday, 15 September 2016  |  Marc

My Detroit bass came equipped with Elites Detroit Flatwound Series strings, which is my main reason for purchasing my bass.

I love the warm thump these strings produce and they really give you an authentic "old school" tone.


Rating:  
Sounds spectacular
Friday, 26 August 2016  |  Miguel

Hi, Gill. I received the bass last Wednesday... the cardboard box had a little bend in it but I checked everything out and nothing was wrong.

It feels superb and sounds spectacular. I need to get used to the lack of body, raise the bridge some, and think about alternative strings (these D'Addarios feel too electric bass-like).

The pickups and volume/tone setup is super sweet. The construction is premium; not only can I see it, I can feel it. I chose right. Thanks for all your help.


Rating:  
Twin Shergolds!
Wednesday, 24 August 2016  |  Martin

'Ello my lovelies!

Just a quick mail to say I am delighted with my two Shergolds - they are perfect, sound phenomenal through my Trace, look fantastic... and they're British!

Loving the (Elites) strings too. I had never tried your strings before you know, which is amazing in itself considering how old I am... thanks again, hope we can catch up soon.

Martin Nash
Singer-songwriter with Ellis-Nash music


Rating:  
Epiphone EB3
Sunday, 21 August 2016  |  Hildegard

The bridge is perfect for the Epiphone EB3. Easy intonation, fast string height setting and looks not so much different (in style) from the original bridge. It weighs as much as the original bridge - I had hoped it was heavier to compensate for the neck dive.

As there are not many 17mm string spacing bridges, this bridge should be considered for other instruments with that requirement.


Rating:  
Absolutely Stunning
Saturday, 20 August 2016  |  Michael

First of all, the customer service at The Bass Centre is fantastic. Katie was able to answer every ridiculous question I asked and was quick and courteous in doing so.

Now, the bass. Beautiful finish (China White) with great set-up right out of the box. I lowered the action to my usual taste and still can't make it buzz. The p/ups are nice and transparent with just enough mid-range growl.

I believe I paid a mere $480 USD (including shipping!) and must say no other J on the market I've played can compare when it comes to this bass' playability. Electronics are always a more subjective issue, but I see no reason to replace the stock set-up.

All this, and the bass made it to the Nashville area in less than a week... Customer for life.

M.


Rating:  
Let me tell you a story!
Thursday, 18 August 2016  |  Keith

After ‘retiring’ nearly 10 years ago, I needed a new bass for a drunkenly conceived reunion project. I’d been “working out” on a Les Paul bass which, although looked cool, was solid mahogany, weighed a ton, was fret worn and didn’t have the best action.

No, I really needed a replacement for my relic '73 Fender P, now safely locked away and in too delicate a state to hump around on public transport.

So a search for a good, affordable alternative was on. As part of my research I "Googled" Bruce Thomas, and found my way to The Bass Centre.

At first I slavered over the Bass Masters range but, as the reunion might only be a one off, I couldn’t justify to myself the extra cost of a Profile. So I went for the Power Bass. I’d plumped for the original model based on Bruce’s reasoning on vintage bridge sustain.

Also, “back in the day” we used to use the rubber rings from Grolsch bottle tops as strap "locks" and I wanted to recreate that extra bit of nostalgia as well!

Order made, I duly took receipt of the bass on the day of the first reunion rehearsal. Opening the box revealed a quality gig bag where inside I found a beautiful China White (white body and headstock with tortoise shell scratch plate).

Like other reviews it honestly arrived almost in tune! Straight away its feel was extremely comfortable, from the lightness of the basswood body to the neck and action which are fantastic and comparable to my ’73.

That evening it was given its first outing and serious real test. As you may have guessed I’m a bit of an Attractions fan, although I'm more in awe of Mr Thomas rather than having developed any Bruce Thomas-like skills. I also love The Stranglers as well (which is why I got the original Fender in the first place).

So my left hand is wannabe Bruce Thomas, whilst my right hand is wannabe early - JJ Burnel. Would the bass stand up to this pick punishment? Yes it would and its response to my playing style sounded great too!

I’ve already had comments admiring both how it looks and sounds and I’m delighted with the bass. I didn't expect to get something so good for this price and I would seriously recommend the range to anyone from amateur to pro level.

My old Fender was a bit of find at a time when the quality of what little was available were at polar opposites.To buy a brand new instrument of such quality and price is a revelation and if I was twenty years younger I’m sure I’d be ordering a few more!

For now we’ll see how the reunion pans out first, the bass is already sounding great though!

Thank you Bass Centre!


Rating:  
Eiites Stadium
Sunday, 7 August 2016  |  Neil

Have tried many string sets but I can't find any better than Elites.

Under £20 a set too. Great tone and feel. The Bass Centre's delivery is super quick too. Give them a try.


Rating:  
Excellent experience all round!
Thursday, 16 June 2016  |  Peter

Great service, great communications, great strings.


Rating:  
Parfait !
Tuesday, 10 May 2016  |  Alix

Chevalet qui respire la solidité. Réglages multiples et installation aisée (grâce au tutoriel).


Rating:  
Didn't Expect THAT!
Sunday, 17 April 2016  |  Peter

I had read a view good reviews about the bridge before, but I didn't expect THAT!

When I fitted the first string for the first time I already noticed that the bass (Gibson SG short scale) sounded completely different. With all 4 strings tuned, the bass has much more sustain and and sounds as brilliant as it never did.

The bass has a completely different character. It's fantastic, and I'm very happy about it. I had no idea what a "sustain-grave" the original bridge had been.

The Bass Centre service was good. They delivered the bridge from Britain to Germany within 7 days.


Rating:  
Bruce Thomas Profile Bass
Monday, 11 April 2016  |  Peter

Arrived 'Down Under' 10 days after shipping from the UK, all in one piece and - straight out of the box and gig bag - almost in tune! Looks and sounds great! Came with a spare set of strings and a copy of (Bruce Thomas' new book) 'Rough Notes' too! No complaints!


Rating:  
Great Little Bass
Monday, 11 April 2016  |  Jon

This is a great little bass with an amazing sound and very easy to play. I already have an Ortega KW Limited Edition Walker Bass and this is to give me a spare for gigs.

Highly recommend these guitars


Rating:  
Really Quick Delivery!... and The Babicz is Good Too!
Sunday, 10 April 2016  |  David

I bought the Babicz bridge to replace the vintage style bridge on an old obscure bass I own. None of the bass bridges you can buy are a straight bolt-on replacement so I got the Babicz.
It sounds great, it really does improve things a lot. Any modern bridge would work better and sound better than the original. Some would not fit.
The screws are soft. Despite drilling proper pilot holes into the maple body the screw heads took a battering getting them in!


Rating:  
Elites Strings
Friday, 8 April 2016  |  Paul

Bass Centre's service is excellent!!... and the Elites Stadium Series IV bass strings sound very bright and clear!!


Rating:  
Glorious
Wednesday, 30 March 2016  |  Clive

Dear Barry

I received my Bruce Thomas Profile bass today and I have to say it is glorious. Played brilliantly straight out of the box. Beautiful salmon pink paint finish, superb neck and a fabulous sound. I have used it on two recording sessions today already. Totally knocked out. Nothing this good anywhere at this price point.

My bass of choice from now on. Thank you and best wishes.

Clive


Rating:  
Speedy Service, Great Strings
Sunday, 27 March 2016  |  Victor

I've been using Elites for over 25 years. Great strings and fast delivery. Good price, too.


Rating:  
Amazing Service
Friday, 11 March 2016  |  Andy

Many thanks for the speedy delivery!!!!

I think this is the fourth Babicz bridge I've received from you, all sent very quickly and amazing service... thank you... :o)


Rating:  
Babicz FCH Bass Bridge
Friday, 11 March 2016  |  Paul

Easy to fit (follow on line instructions, as it does not come with any). Set up very well. Gigged once since fitting. Tuning appears more stable and a lot more sustain on the Jazz.. Pleased with this so far.


Rating:  
Bass Collection Power Bass
Monday, 7 March 2016  |  David

Wow! An incredible bass for the money, the neck is superb, the frets are all nice and level, it sounds fantastic too... it would have been a five star review but the machine heads are a bit pants. Having said that, it's still one of my favourite basses. Well done! 😊


Rating:  
Amazing Guitar!
Monday, 29 February 2016  |  Simon

I'm absolutely blown away with the look and sound of it, amazing! Puts my USA Fenders to shame. I usually play a US. Precision or Jazz and this Jive Live easily plays as nicely.

Amazing fret job and great relicing. With a case too! It really gives my American guitars a run for their money, easily.

It's now my #1 gigging bass, no question.

Pick ups are punchy and you get everything from U2 Rock to James Jamerson Motown.

Can't recommend enough.


Rating:  
Great Fun
Sunday, 28 February 2016  |  Richard

This is a great little bass. It requires some getting used to with its stretchy strings but produces a BIG sound. I have had to adjust my technique and lighten my touch to get the best out of it, but it is a lot of fun.


Rating:  
Amazing Fun To Play...
Thursday, 25 February 2016  |  Mike

The mahogany fretless is a serious bass in a pint-sized body.

The 'fat' strings took a short while to get used to, as did the scale length. But then... played through the (equally pint-sized) Micromark 801, I have an easily transportable set up for practice and gigs.

Brilliant!


Rating:  
Bridge Babicz
Monday, 15 February 2016  |  Ramon

Todo perfecto, el único fallo es que no traía la llave de ajuste.


Rating:  
An Absolute Gem of a Bass
Saturday, 16 January 2016  |  Vince

I have a 1988 model and it's one of only three basses I've kept over the years and wouldn't part with at any price (the others being my '72 Jazz and '83 4003).

Everything said in the description is accurate. Of particular note is the neck joint: it's rock solid.

If you want a modern(ish) sounding two octave bass which plays like a hot knife through butter, is as light as a feather yet durably built, you really can't go wrong with one of these.


Rating:  
Bass Collection Detroit Bass - Solar Flare LE
Wednesday, 30 December 2015  |  Marc

Hello, I just received my Detroit Bass Solar Flare LE today... I am very excited and was very surprised at how fast it arrived, I ordered it December 18th and I am in California! I opened the box and when I took it out of the soft case and I was very impressed by how it looked and felt, and with the overall quality.

I was looking at the big name, budget line basses but their color choices were limited and some of the basses I considered buying were discontinued. This bass has everything I wanted in a bass and then some.

The basses you make are worth the extra money and the shipping, I couldn't be any more satisfied with my purchase.


Rating:  
Excellent Strings & Service!
Thursday, 12 November 2015  |  William

Bass Centre does what it says on the tin.
Had a wee problem with the order... Sorted quickly... Great communication... Job done!

Thank you


Rating:  
Kills Bigger Names
Sunday, 1 November 2015  |  Paul

As a lefty, the options of basses available are pretty limited.

The Jive Bass with the Babicz bridge is an awesome machine. It does everything I want and is fab value compared to some big name brands I can think of... Definitely a 5 star instrument!


Rating:  
Lovely
Wednesday, 28 October 2015  |  Paul

I've just received my lefty Jive bass and have to say it's a lovely instrument.


Rating:  
Strings & A Free T shirt
Sunday, 9 August 2015  |  Eric

Quality strings, I've used them for years and they never fail to impress and I can use the T shirt to polish my bass lol.


Rating:  
Babicz Bass Bridge
Saturday, 8 August 2015  |  Pawel

Popped this beauty on to my Precision copy and it has taken it from flaky to rockin' in one move.

Solid feel and tone. Smooth sustaining and joyful.

Well done Bass Centre for making these available in the UK.


Rating:  
Excellent Service!
Wednesday, 22 July 2015  |  Pete

Ordered some Elite DBE 40-100 on Monday... just to say they have arrived today.

Excellent service guys, so quick, ready for the weekend. I will definitely be spreading the word round the North East about this.


Rating:  
Solid!
Monday, 20 July 2015  |  Nick

Brilliant and solid.

Delivery was quick and the purchase experience was refined and easy.

The bridge is one of the best bridges I've used and seen on F*nder basses👍... Highly recommended.

Easy install (particularly as my delivery wasn't the retail packaged item with instructions)... 6 minutes on YouTube and no problem.

You will need to disassemble first - make sure you do and as the bridge is aluminium make sure you don't over tighten anything.

Excellent range of adjustment.


Rating:  
Babicz Bridge
Tuesday, 23 June 2015  |  John

Does the job tidy, came real quick in post.


Rating:  
NS NXT 4 Cello - NIce
Monday, 8 June 2015  |  Christian

A nice electric cello, beautifully made and seems to work. Too soon to comment on its sound quality but early indications are very favourable. The Bass Centre were very helpful and the unit all packed and delivered quickly. Thank you.


Rating:  
Great product
Thursday, 21 May 2015  |  Roy

Bought this to replace standard Fender bridge on Hybrid bass.

It's a top quality, well engineered product that is so much better than the standard pressed steel bridge. It has a rock solid feel that has improved sustain and made intonation a lot easier.

The price from Bass Centre was £10 cheaper than anywhere else and delivery was double quick.

I highly recommend them for their excellent service and price.


Rating:  
Kala U-Bass Mahogany - Fretted -Left Handed
Thursday, 21 May 2015  |  Patrick

GREAT small instrument... Amazing sound... You don't need a double bass no more!


Rating:  
Impressive Sound & Playability
Monday, 4 May 2015  |  Clive

Very convincing cello sound. Easier to play than my acoustic cello (I think that's because there are no natural resonances to fight against). Slight disappointment that the finish lacks the brightness of the catalogue photos, but a bit of wax polish may remedy that. Much, much, better (for sound and for noise-free electronics) than a Yamaha that I tried recently. Overall, I'm very pleased with it.


Rating:  
Brilliant Drop-In Replacement Bridge!
Thursday, 2 April 2015  |  Joe

I've tried many different retro-fit bridges for my Jazz bass over the years and this one blows them all out of the water. I wouldn't be surprised if this shows up on higher end models in the future.


Rating:  
Great!
Friday, 20 March 2015  |  Si

Absolutely one of the greatest basses I've ever played.


Rating:  
Bass Collection Detroit Bass - China White
Saturday, 21 February 2015  |  Harry

I'm a novice bass player and this is my first purchase of a "new" bass. I wanted something different that would stand out amongst all the Squires. I chose the Bass Centre because their take on the classic designs offered me that familiar, yet different vibe.
My China White Detroit Bass looks, feels, and sounds terrific, I know it's going to stay with me and help me take my bass playing to a whole new level.


Rating:  
NXT 5-String Cello
Friday, 20 February 2015  |  Lynda

Excellent instrument - very well constructed and lovely to listen to. Lots of potential for creating interesting backing to our next Tan Yows CD.
Also excellent service from The Bass Centre - thanks!


Rating:  
A Very Good & Beautiful Instrument
Saturday, 14 February 2015  |  Hubert

Hello from France, and again, please excuse my bad English!

I bought this NS design NXT-5 (five strings). A very beautiful and well done electric upright bass.
The build quality is excellent!

I don't have to do any more settings, probably already check, the neck is very good like the action of the strings (perfect adjustment for me), very easy to play. I'm very suprised by the play-ability.... just plug and play

The included soft cover (gig bag) and tripod stand is good too, very practical and solid. In my opinion, the NS Contemporary strings (which are light gauge) seems a bit too "electric bass-sounding" for me, and need to be replaced with traditional strings for more "upright sounding".

So a very good value for the price. I love it

I'm also really really pleased by the seriousness of The Bass Centre. Thank you guys, a pleasure to deal with you. I bought the NXT-5 on a Sunday on the internet site and I recieved it, at home in France, on the Wednesday !!! super fast and well packed !!!!

Bye and, again, thanks to the team of Bass Centre.

Hubert

Pour les Francais...

Un très bon instrument, belle fintion, réglage d'origine parfait pour moi. Un très bon son autant à l'archet qu 'au doight (cordes d'origine à changer pour un son de contrebasse « plus traditionnel » Livraison en france gratuite et super rapide : en 3 jours! Livré avec housse et stand tripod, solide et pratique.

Un grand merci à l'équipe de bass center, super serieux!


Rating:  
Babicz FCH Bass Bridge
Friday, 13 February 2015  |  Peter

Better than Badass and good looking too! Improves the sound of any bass... in my opinion a must-buy!


Rating:  
SUPER FAST SERVICE!!
Thursday, 15 January 2015  |  Hubert

Hello from France (so excuse my bad English)... I just want to thank you for your serious professionalism.

I order a NS Design NXT-5 on Sunday on your website, and received it on Wednesday at home in France (3 days after!)... SUPER FAST!!! Thanks a lot.

Everything 's fine and the NXT-5 is a beautiful and very good instrument. All settings just fine, just plug and play.

Once again, thanks a lot and see you soon.


Rating:  
Superb Instrument & Sellers
Monday, 12 January 2015  |  Victor

I wanted to tell you guys... this Kala U-Bass was the best Christmas gift I gave to myself!

I'm a musician, but not a bass player. and I saw a friend of mine playing this baby a few months ago and I fell in love! Great instrument, amazing sound.

I was worried about the tunning and how good could using those kinds of strings be (kind of a plastic thing) but, let me tell you, it works perfectly!

Thank you so much!


Rating:  
Babicz FCH Bridge
Thursday, 18 December 2014  |  Peter

An excellent product. Fitted one to my JB about 2 years ago. Now treating my P bass to one. Bass Centre always a pleasure to do business with.
Many thanks again Bass Centre.


Rating:  
Very Impressed
Friday, 28 November 2014  |  Andrew

Well the bass arrived safely, good delivery.

Very impressed with the build quality... it put to shame an American Precision that cost £1,100. The gig bag and case candy is a very nice touch, and I like the strings on it.

The action was low and the neck feels very smooth. The bass itself is a very handsome looking instrument. The biggest plus point though, is that the P and J pickups sound as they should - it’s like two basses in one, a great balance and when you blend the two, another world of sounds opens up. A Rhythm Stick it truly is.

Thank you very much.


Rating:  
Top Strings
Thursday, 20 November 2014  |  Darren

Have used these strings for more years than I care to mention and they never fail to impress. The quality is always top notch and consistent. A+


Rating:  
WOW!
Monday, 17 November 2014  |  Alistair

I now have a few Bass Collection basses (9 to be exact!) & I have to say these basses are fan-freakin-tastic... As I`ve said before, just buy them - you won't regret it... Thanx to all at The Bass Centre & keep up the good work...

Big Al


Rating:  
Strings
Sunday, 9 November 2014  |  Steve

Great quality strings, exactly as described and super speedy service. Thanks!


Rating:  
WOW!
Saturday, 1 November 2014  |  Alistair

Hi Guys Big Al back again..
This is Bass Collection #6 & WOW, WHAT A BASS. I totally agree with everyone who has bought this bass this IS the doggie's danglie bits.... Ain`t put it down since i`ve got it.... THANX Guys, another Winner ....
Cheers, Big Al


Rating:  
The Perfect Bass Guitarist's Upright...
Saturday, 4 October 2014  |  Andrew

I play lots of styles in lots of bands and have used guitars, upright basses and even U-Basses but, lately, have found myself in a difficult position. Having moved on to a five-string bass guitar for general use, I've found it increasingly difficult to transfer songs onto the 4-stringed upright or U-Bass for 'acoustic' gigs.

Enter the NXT5!

At last, a 5 string bass instrument with the scale-length, action and speed of a guitar but with the looks and style needed for 'acoustic' gigs!

At such a relatively low price I wasn't expecting the build quality or sound NS have delivered! The sound is beautifully balanced - even down to the low B string - and the simple controls actually give a full range of really useful tones. The tight radius at the bridge end means that you can use a bow although I haven't tried that yet.

If you need a portable alternative to an upright acoustic bass, need bowed sounds or just want to look super-cool, give the NS basses a try-out!


Rating:  
Simply Stunning!
Friday, 19 September 2014  |  Jonathan

Hi, Barry and colleagues

Just to say a big thank you. I received my Profile bass today, and what an instrument it is!

Fantastic clarity of tone (and loud!), super smooth neck, harmonics to die for - and all this straight out of the box!

And it looks simply stunning!

If you're planning on buying the Mexican-built model of a rather famous brand, do yourself a favour and buy this instead. Why buy generic, when you can have something unique, with a certificate signed by a British bass legend, no less, for the same, indeed slightly less, money?

Well done Bruce and everyone at The Bass Centre!


Rating:  
Always Consistent... Sound Great!
Tuesday, 16 September 2014  |  Mat

I've been using and endorsing Elites since 2002 and they are always consistent and sound great!

I've recently gone up a gauge and I am currently using Stadium 45-105.

Many thanks to Barry for having me as part of the Elites family!


Rating:  
Great Service
Monday, 1 September 2014  |  Brian

Great product and service. Bass Centre rocks!


Rating:  
Bass Centre Are Great!
Friday, 20 June 2014  |  Chris

I don't use any other strings. Bass Centre are great!


Rating:  
Elites Detroit Flats
Thursday, 19 June 2014  |  Alistair

These are the BEST flatwounds I`ve tried in a long time...


Rating:  
Fantastic Feel & Tone...
Thursday, 5 June 2014  |  Keiren

Just fitted a set of light gauge Stadium Elites to my Precision, after trying out various different manufacturers (Rotosound, Ernie Ball etc.), and wanted to say how pleased I am with them - fantastic feel and tone. So glad that buying strings will no longer feel like a lottery! Thanks, Bass Centre!


Rating:  
Spot-On!
Thursday, 17 April 2014  |  Don

from www.bassgear.co.uk "Pro's Tools" article, April 2014...

This punches above its weight. I recently did a TV & Film theme big band concert where we played a lot from the 60's and 70's... used this bass and it was spot on sound wise.

Don Richardson is a session ace with a 30 year career in which he has worked with Paul Carrack, Andrea Bocelli ,Katherine Jenkins, Holly Johnston, The Spice Girls, Jon Lord, Jimmy Page, David Coverdale, Michael Nyman, Elton John, Kerry Ellis & Brian May, James Brown, Everything But the Girl, Bryan Ferry. Dusty Springfield. Will Young, Shirley Bassey, John Williams, Eric Clapton, Robert Palmer, McFly and Ian McNabb.


Rating:  
Great service, fast delivery
Thursday, 17 April 2014  |  Jarmo

Finding lefthanded basses is always difficult. The Bass Centre answered my questions and delivered my order quickly. Thumbs up for the great service!


Rating:  
Bruce Thomas Profile Bass
Monday, 31 March 2014  |  Mike

Do what you have to do to get a Profile!

I’ve got 2 ’60s Precisions and they are both in the cases. I’m in the US and I think I ended up spending around $900 total with the shipping and import fees. I have not came across anything in that range of price that can touch it. I've got 4-year old strings on it and it sounds great!


Rating:  
Wyman Bass
Monday, 24 March 2014  |  Martin

Great Sound, nice to handle. Thank you for your excellent customer service.


Rating:  
Babicz Bass Bridge
Saturday, 22 March 2014  |  Paul

Excellent product... rock solid, easily adjusted and easy to fit - watch the video on You Tube. Vast improvement over standard Fender Bridge.


Rating:  
A must for any collection...
Friday, 21 February 2014  |  Alistair

Just received a Kala U-Bass mahogany fretless... WOW!! It's the most fun I've had with my trousers on for a long time.. A brilliant piece of kit. A must for any collection...


Rating:  
Babicz FCH Bridge
Thursday, 6 February 2014  |  Michael

Slightly concerned that the bridge and screws came in open plastic bags with no packaging or instructions but, despite what you read in forums, it was dead easy to fit... The supplied screws go straight in and are secure. Set up was easy following online instructions and the sound is very good (i.e. not coloured by the new part).

Would certainly recommend this bridge as a replacement on Fender basses.


Rating:  
Routine Purchase of Strings
Tuesday, 4 February 2014  |  Stewart

Although my purchase was a simple one (of replacement strings) it was handled in a quick, efficient and helpful manner - and the price was right.

What more could one ask for?


Rating:  
Gets A Lot Of Compliments!
Sunday, 26 January 2014  |  Scott

Now that it's finally arrived and I've played it for a few weeks, I've got to say I'm very favorably impressed. Out of the box it was set up perfectly, and oddly enough, very nearly in tune. Rather surprising considering it was shipped to the US, spending several weeks in a UPS warehouse for customs clearance, and this during the coldest December in years.

The first thing about it that stood out was that the pickup is probably the loudest P-Bass style pickup I've ever heard, and the low end response on it is astonishing! For sure, this bass can rumble the house! But it also has a clear ringing high end when the tone control is dialed up (personally I generally prefer to dial down most of the treble, but YMMV). Also notable is the sustain... hit a note and it'll ring for nearly a minute.

The neck is great! The fingerboard width is reminiscent of a 60's P-Bass, but the neck width is somewhat slimmer, making it really easy to play. The frets are nicely levelled and crowned, no problems with sharp, errant frets extending over the edge of the fretboard.

The hardware is adequate... the tuning keys obviously aren't high-end, but they're perfectly functional and when I tune it, it stays tuned. I suppose they could be upgraded, but I don't really see the need. The volume and tone controls kick in rather abruptly when dialed up from a zero position, but they work smoothly and noiselessly. The instrument is light and very comfortably balanced.

All in all it's great instrument for the money, and it's a world of fun to play. I've been using it nearly exclusively since I got it, and getting a lot of compliments on it from other bass players.

I have to say, out of the box, I was a lot more pleased with it than with the last few new Fender basses I've bought. It certainly holds its own compared to other instruments of any price.


Rating:  
Babicz Full Contact Bridge
Thursday, 23 January 2014  |  Philip

I bought this to fit on my Yamaha RBX375, together with Gotoh tuners and flatwound strings.

WOW!! What a difference.

The bridge was so easy to fit and set up was also very easy. I had difficulty finding a good bridge that would fit the Yamaha but this one just went straight on. The only very minor issue was that the outer two of the original fixing holes are ever so slightly visible under the rear corners of the Babicz baseplate, but you do have to look hard... so not really a problem.

I would recommend this bridge for quality, functionality and general finish. It's also a good bit of bling for the money!


Rating:  
Good Effort!
Wednesday, 15 January 2014  |  Rod

Having played & owned the instrument for a few months, I think it is probably the most “Rod Mackay” bass I own... and I have a lot of Fenders! Tone, neck profile, colour, cost. Good effort!


Rating:  
Addicted!
Saturday, 14 December 2013  |  Carsten

Hello. I have now made a successful order on your website. Sorry for any trouble i made for you, but this bass is amazing and I make you responsible for making me totally addicted to it! Best regards, Carsten


Rating:  
Fan-freekin-tastic Bridge
Friday, 13 December 2013  |  Alistair

As everyone else has said before me, an excellent bridge. It has improved the already great sound of my Jive Fretless & it was so easy to fit (even a drummer could do it... Hmm maybe not HA HA HA)... Thanx again, Bass Centre!


Rating:  
gift
Thursday, 12 December 2013  |  Stella

Arrived promptly. Can't comment on anything else as it's a gift!


Rating:  
Good for me...
Monday, 9 December 2013  |  Francis

Nice wee bass, short and easy to play (if you have short fingers like I have). The neck is great, the sound is nice. Easy to carry around too. I had to wait a while due to its success before I got it, but contact with the Bass Centre was good.


Rating:  
Engineering Masterpiece
Sunday, 1 December 2013  |  Martyn

Excellent... replaced Badass II with on my Jazz with this puppy. More sustain, better string position and super accurate easy set up. One going on my P-Bass as soon as poss.


Rating:  
Great Product, Service & Price
Thursday, 28 November 2013  |  Torbjørn

Fast shipping and price. The Hiscox case looks sturdy and classy. I have yet to test on the road.


Rating:  
Does exactly what it should...
Wednesday, 6 November 2013  |  SPH

I ordered this stand for my upright bass and it is perfect. Delivery was done within 2 weeks, in my case.
The stand is easy to set up and has a very solid construction. If you don't need to move around while playing, this is the stand to have.


Rating:  
Elites Detroit Flats
Wednesday, 6 November 2013  |  Rod

Loving these flats on The Profile Bass, Barry!!


Rating:  
Excellent
Monday, 4 November 2013  |  Eric

Norman-Watt-Roy... what a legend. Totally brilliant album, you can tell he was influenced by Weather Report - not a bad thing. And signed by the great man as well, it's one to treasure.


Rating:  
A Striking Instrument!
Monday, 16 September 2013  |  Rod

The bass is a beautiful colour - that's what strikes you first. The neck has a great satin finish, a shallow profile which makes it very easy to play and a very distinct variant of the "P". The sound is very much as one would expect from a split "P" configuration... a well-built, very playable, striking instrument. Comes with Elites Stadium 45-105's! Rod Mackay, The Deluxe


Rating:  
Fantastic Instrument!
Saturday, 17 August 2013  |  Peter

The bass arrived this morning. What a fantastic instrument. So lovely to play… Congratulations. Peter Gale


Rating:  
A Great Instrument!
Sunday, 4 August 2013  |  Mike

The pickup output is considerably hotter than the standard “P” pickups. Really a great instrument! Mike Miller


Rating:  
NS Design Tripod Stand
Saturday, 27 July 2013  |  Gerard

This stand is a must-have for anyone wanting to swtch between a normal electric bass and the Omni Bass (or whichever NS Design bass you have).

It's easy to set up and fully adjustable to your needs. I tend to move about when I play and it remains solid until I give it some welly. Even then it doesn't give you any cause for concern as it settles back quickly.

One thing I have noticed after gigs is that people still comment on the bass itself, so if you like to show off your NS Design instrument, the stand doesn't detract from the interest you get when you have the Boomerang strap.

If I was to have anything to complain about it is the weight it adds when carrying in a gig bag but, if you slot your fingers into the ring at the bottom of the shoulder strap, then it isn't an issue when walking a distance to the venue.

If you need this item immediately then be prepared to be disappointed, it took four weeks to deliver the stand to me. But, if like me, you waited three months for the bass, then it shouldn't be a problem as you are probanly a patient person.


Rating:  
Elites Player IV
Tuesday, 23 July 2013  |  Andrew

I had always been a Rotosound user until I tried Elites. I usually buy the Stadium Series but tried the Player Series this time. Same great sound, but softer/rounder. I use the Extra Light 30-90 Gauges on a MM Fender Jazz with an East on-board preamp.


Rating:  
Buy into the Wyman legend - You will not be disappointed!
Wednesday, 26 June 2013  |  Adam

As a lifelong Stones and Bill Wyman fan, I had high expectations for the quality of the bass and an eagerness to own a bass associated with the man who drove me to pick up the instrument.

When I tried the bass out, it absolutely exceeded my expectations. The compact design along with a mixture of clear and vintage sounds makes this a pleasure to play. I have yet to play a bass with a nicer neck than this. You really feel like you've got the 'moves like Wyman' with it. I strongly recommend this bass.

In terms of service, Barry could not have been more helpful and attentative. He took time to explain both the features of the bass and to chat generally about music. It was apparent that he is the foremost bass expert.

Overall the instrument and service was superb!!

Many Thanks Barry!


Rating:  
Elites Danny Thompson Signature Series Double Bass Strings
Monday, 24 June 2013  |  Roberto

These strings are great!

I found them exceptionally comfortable and the tension is just perfect. I played for 3 and half hours and I have no sore hands. You can really dig in and they respond well. All the strings sound even and deep and they have plenty of volume and a wonderful sustain.

Bowing-wise, they sounded great and not scratchy at all! I absolutely love them.

I'm heading into the studio soon and I will definitely keep them on for the whole job.

Roberto Cassani, Kilmarnock Edition


Rating:  
A great piece of kit
Thursday, 23 May 2013  |  Jonathan

Not cheap, but improves the feel of my bass no end. Very easy to install, and built like a brick outhouse. Sending it without the box in a jiffy bag (so it fitted through my letter box) was also appreciated.


Rating:  
British Bass Masters 'Wyman' Bass
Friday, 10 May 2013  |  Frank

Hello ! Im very pleased with my new Wyman bass. It sounds great and the neck is a dream. Thank you! I will be in London this summer then I will drop by!

Best Regards Frank Granstrom! (Sweden)


Rating:  
Portable Clout
Friday, 12 April 2013  |  Richard

This is the best thing since sliced bread. A light touch on the strings
through a decent amp does wonders! Easily equal to a full sized bass!


Rating:  
Babicz Full Contact Bass Bridge
Friday, 12 April 2013  |  Richard

Very easy to fit once you've watched the Babicz video on YouTube. It has improved the sound of my Squier modified 70's Jazz. Once fitted, any intonation and string height adjustment was a piece of cake. The bridge comes with the correct allen key for the job, which makes life much easier.


Rating:  
Kala U Bass
Sunday, 24 March 2013  |  Duncan

I bought a mahogany fretted model and I am very impressed by the overall finish, tonal accuracy on such a short scale and the amazing, truly "woody" sound from the new pick-ups. I have let double-bass playing friends try it and delight in their open mouths, popping-out eyes and reluctance to hand it back!...well worth the wait.


Rating:  
Babicz 4 String Bridge
Monday, 18 March 2013  |  Jon

Worth every penny. Really, really easy to set up and sounds amazing.


Rating:  
Excellent
Friday, 8 March 2013  |  Ann

really good, thanks... guitar sounds awesome now.


Rating:  
Babicz 4 String Bridge
Monday, 4 March 2013  |  Thommy

Love this hardware! The sound is much better than the "original"!!
And It`s better looking... Plus: nicer/softer to touch! )


Rating:  
Elites Danny Thompson Signature Series Double Bass Strings
Sunday, 24 February 2013  |  Jon

I just wanted to let you know that I received the Danny Thompson strings in time for my Lamb tour. Thank you very much again for your generosity in offering them to me on an artist's deal. I love the packaging so much that I can't bring myself to throw away the box !

I't's a five date tour of Holland with Lamb plus orchestra. It is all being recorded for a DVD and CD release, so it will be nice to document the strings on my EUB on their first outing. I'll get some good photo's for you for promo as I go along and send them when I return.

All the very best

Jon Thorne (LAMB)


Rating:  
Elites Phosphor Bronze V Acoustic Bass
Sunday, 24 February 2013  |  Francis

Exelent strings... they have a much brighter sound than standard round wound. Of course I use them on my acoustic bass but I have also used them on my solid electric with very similar results. They brighten the sound and give the bass much more character.


Rating:  
Wyman bass
Thursday, 21 February 2013  |  Michael

Received my Wyman bass... nice instrument, good action. Thank you for your excellent customer service, I really appreciated it.


Rating:  
Kala U-Bass
Monday, 21 January 2013  |  Angus

A surprisingly nice instrument to play, the nearest sound to a double bass I have tried yet.


Rating:  
Babicz Bridge
Monday, 17 December 2012  |  Simon

Easy to fit and set up, and much better than the original Fender Bridge.


Rating:  
FCH Bridge
Friday, 7 December 2012  |  Chris

Excellent bridge.

Does everything the manufacturer claims.


Rating:  
Stadium Elites
Friday, 7 December 2012  |  Chris

Really good strings - much prefer them to the Rotosounds they replaced.


Rating:  
Flatwound for Jack Casady bass
Saturday, 24 November 2012  |  Zsolt

Great sound, easy to play.


Rating:  
Bill Wyman Bass
Friday, 19 October 2012  |  Peter

The support and the time of delivery where excellent.


Rating:  
Babicz FCH Bass Bridge
Tuesday, 19 June 2012  |  Adam

Fantastic product. Improved attack, sustain and resonance of my bass. Easy to install and great design.


Rating:  
Tighten things up.
Monday, 18 June 2012  |  Bob

I own a bass with a Badass bridge and one with a Babicz. I think the Badass gives greater sustain but where the Babicz really scores is in its ease of set-up (especially action). Also, it all gets locked up after set-up so there is no 'play' in the strings, allowing fully committed playing!!

Great value. Get one!


Rating:  
NS Design NXT 4 Upright Double Bass - Amber
Wednesday, 13 June 2012  |  Christopher

A fabulous bass. I have been gigging every week for over two years with this bass and it always receives complementary comments for its sound and looks. The supplied gig bag and stand were not of very good quality... the original gig bag split after one week's use, so The Bass Centre sent a replacement gig bag free of charge, which was of far superior quality. The top of the original stand sheared off recently so I decided to upgrade to the more expensive stand, which is standard equipment for the CR bass. The Bass Centre gave me a good deal on the new stand. The NXT is a great bass so maybe think about upgrading to the superior stand when purchasing.


Rating:  
Damn good bridge
Saturday, 19 May 2012  |  David

So easy to set-up and my fender Jazz feels like a new instrument... a brilliant piece of hardware. I shall be definitely making another purchase here - Thank you, Bass Centre!


Rating:  
Small Bass, but big sound.
Saturday, 19 May 2012  |  Chris

I bought this to replace the fretted version I bought last year.

I really like the sound that is produced by these instruments and so do most of the people who have heard me play it. It takes a while to get used to how the strings feel and move under the fingers but once the technique is sorted it's fine.

I had two problems with the first fretted u-bass in that the centre pin jack socked continuously came loose, caused by the socked being so tight on the jack plug that any movement of the cable and plug caused the inner thread on the socket to come loose. It can be tightened fairly easily but had to be done nearly every time I played it. Secondly, as a woman with slightly smaller hands, I found after a while that the pressure needed to hold the thicker strings down firmly between the closer than usual spaced frets caused my finger joints and tendons to become painful. This was the reason for buying the second, fretless u-bass which solved this problem almost immeadiately. Once you have got used to the size, weight and feel of this instrument, the sound you get is really good.

As a working musician I take it to most jam sessions and gigs, and am glad that I don't have to heave a heavy plank of wood around any more.

A good and more than a little useful addition to my tool kit.


Rating:  
Bass Centre 'Wyman' Bass
Sunday, 8 April 2012  |  Larry

Overall a great little bass... working with The Bass Centre was first class as I live in the States. Worry-free transaction! Thanks!


Rating:  
kala bass ukulele u bass srruce top
Tuesday, 7 February 2012  |  Ian

A great sounding little bass.


Rating:  
Babicz Full Contact 4 String Bridge
Monday, 23 January 2012  |  Richard

This has to be one of the best made bridges on the market today. Easy to set up, looks fantastic and, as for the sound, it is simply sublime. My bass guitar has certainly come alive.


Rating:  
Babizc FCH Bridge 4 string
Thursday, 5 January 2012  |  Michael

It really squeezed every last vibration out of the fretted string & back into the body & pickups. Superior to anything else. I will use it on all future models.


Rating:  
Babicz 4 string bridge
Sunday, 1 January 2012  |  Pauline

Just bought this bridge as an alternative to the Badass which was on my Geddy Lee Signature Jazz Bass. Man, what a difference... excellent tone, easy to fit, easy to set up. If you're serious about your sound, this is the one.


Rating:  
Elites Flatwound
Friday, 30 December 2011  |  Brendan

Lovely set of strings, nice smooth tone... And excellent service, with quick delivery and a good quality t-shirt. What more could a man want?!


Rating:  
Kala Bass Ukulele - U-Bass
Wednesday, 9 November 2011  |  Mauro

Thank you for all! The instrument is perfect!


Rating:  
Elite Bass Strings
Tuesday, 20 September 2011  |  Terry

Strings arrived on time. I am always happy with the service from Bass Centre. Elite Strings sound great.


Rating:  
Técnicamente el mejor
Sunday, 3 July 2011  |  Jose

It offers the largest and best transmission between string and body (shame The Bass Centre does not have the guitar bridges... it would be the only supplier in Europe).


Rating:  
elites DB end 30 50 70 90
Friday, 20 May 2011  |  Kenny

Great sound and "bendability".


Rating:  
Babicz FCH Bridge
Saturday, 19 March 2011  |  Trevor

Excellent piece of kit,
A must have essential for any serious guitarist or Bassist.
Easy to fit and set up in less than 1 hour.


Rating:  
t shirt
Monday, 28 February 2011  |  Steven

way cool !!!!


Rating:  
T-shirt
Sunday, 13 February 2011  |  David

Great strings and a free good quality t-shirt. What more can a man ask for. Brilliant.


Rating:  
Great bass strings
Sunday, 13 February 2011  |  David

Great strings at a realistic price.
Well done


Rating:  
Recent Purchases
Monday, 31 January 2011  |  Andrew

Good level of service,as usual and being kept informed regarding out of stock items.
Regards,Andy.


Rating:  
T-shirt
Friday, 28 January 2011  |  John

great T-shirt, except I'm never gonna be a medium, can't remember when I last was. If I send it back, can I have a XL?
Fatbruv


Rating:  
Babicz Full Contact Hardware Bridge
Saturday, 15 January 2011  |  Robert

Cracking piece of kit!


Rating:  
T-shirt
Friday, 15 October 2010  |  Frixos

Thank you for the gift its awesome!


Rating:  
Cable purchase
Friday, 17 September 2010  |  Oliver

Arrived in excellent condition and promptly. Thank you.


Rating:  
Cable purchase
Friday, 17 September 2010  |  Oliver

Arrived in excellent condition and promptly. Thank you.


Rating:  
Bass Centre Tshirt
Sunday, 15 August 2010  |  Siobhan

Excellent Fit, I had expected it might be a shade small or I am smaller than I thought


Rating:  
Bass Centre Tshirt (XL)
Monday, 19 July 2010  |  Vaughan

I like curry and pies so I normally wear XXL size but this XL shirt was "ample" enough for me.
I like this Tshirt.


Rating:  
Elites Stadium Series
Saturday, 17 July 2010  |  Lee

First time using these as I fancied a change from my usual strings. I bought the heavy guage and am not disapointed, really good strings will be using these all the time now I think.


Rating:  
Freedom!
Friday, 2 July 2010  |  Andrew

Brilliant for being on stage. Would have rated 5 stars if the yoke which acts as a hanger when attached to the tripod stand had been included, but this had to be obtained separately.


Rating:  
Even better than expected
Friday, 2 July 2010  |  Andrew

This is a wonderful instrument with fantastic sounds. It has taken a little time to get used to it but as my technique improves,so the results get better and better, and I'm sure will continue to reward for many years to come. The instrument is beautifully made and it's a pity that the same couldn't be said about the tripod stand. The one that arrived with mine was flimsy and damaged. However, following a phone call to the Bass Centre, a new, more substantial one arrived within two days. Excellent service to complement an excellent product. Despite the stand, I still rate the bass with five stars and thoroughly recommend it as representing excellent value for money.


Rating:  
Elites Player Series IV
Sunday, 25 April 2010  |  Andrew

Great strings and the usual friendly,professional service.AndyW


Rating:  
Elites Player series
Friday, 26 March 2010  |  Paul

I wanted a set of Stadium strings but the gauge I wanted was out of stock. I accepted the Player set as an alternative and they are actually very nice strings. Technically I don't know what the difference is but tey feel smoother and have a warm sound. Very good. As for the T shirt I wasn't expecting a Warwick t but hey who's complaining. On the down side the order took some time to arrive so don't buy last minute


Rating:  
Elites Stadium V
Sunday, 17 January 2010  |  Colin

Great sound. Last a long time before sound starts to dull.


Rating:  
NS Bass Endpin Stand
Sunday, 3 January 2010  |  Ian

Good price (£149) and next day delivery - Excellent!! NS Bass Endpin stand is good quality and well designed with plenty of adjustment.


Rating:  
Elites Player Series V
Sunday, 6 December 2009  |  Michael

Good all round bright and full sound. Good balance across all strings. Great value for money.


Rating:  
Elites Player Series
Monday, 9 November 2009  |  Denise

These are the Bass strings I always use. They've never let me down despite having them on my Bass for over a year. Still sound great.


Rating:  
Excellent
Saturday, 8 August 2009  |  Jonathan

These strings are excellent, I won't use anything else now.


Rating:  
Bass case
Tuesday, 2 June 2009  |  Christopher

Speedy and reliable service.


Rating:  
the best!
Monday, 27 April 2009  |  Robert

I love these strings...been using 'em since 1990. Won't use anything else...thanks to the Bass Centre for all their help in the last coupla months


Rating:  
Elite steel
Sunday, 26 April 2009  |  Phil

Prefer Dadario strings. Not tried the nickel yet though only steel.


Rating:  
great strings
Sunday, 26 April 2009  |  Craig

Have used Elites for over 10 years, have tried different strings during that time as not available where I live but not as happy with them. Great to be able to get what I want online and from a great store (where I also purchased my Warwick bass many years ago and have no intention of changing it!) cheers


Rating:  
Brilliant!
Sunday, 8 March 2009  |  Christopher

I've just fitted a new set of Stadium Series Elites to a hand made
bass that I've just finished (the lacquer is still soft but I can't wait) and BLIMEY! What power and brilliance! I've always preferred Elites but now I will make sure I always have Elites 'in stock'... Thanks Bass Centre!


Rating:  
Nice warm tone!
Tuesday, 3 March 2009  |  Paul

As the title say these string have a really nice warm tone, I have them on my Overwater Perception fretless and they just sing! One downside is the low B is a little short for the 35" scale and the bindings on the string come just past the nut, seemed strange as the other strings are more than adequate.